Athletics’ ridiculous false-start rule

Following Usain Bolt’s false-start disqualification from the World Championship 100m final, I can only hope the sudden death false-start rule is amended before the Olympics next year.

I await some explanation of what was wrong with the previous “two strikes and you’re out” rule.

Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Comments

  • Rick Joshua  On August 29, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I do think that the one strike and you’re out method is a little harsh, but the previous rules were playing havoc with the schedules. I remember the days when a race would go off fifteen minutes later than planned following a battery of false starts.

    I think the IAAF took their cue from FINA, who have employed a one false start rule for a number of years now in major events.

  • JP  On August 29, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    15 minutes? That’s hard to believe, I’ve never seen anything beyond one or two false starts in all my years of watching track & field. And you could introduce some intermediate rule, I suppose: two strikes applies till there have been two false starts, then sudden death.

    But personally I’d go back to the old rule.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: